Overview of ADA Transition Plan

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was enacted on July 26, 1990, and later amended effective January 1, 2009. As written and implemented, the ADA provides comprehensive civil rights protections to persons with disabilities in the areas of employment, state and local government services, access to public accommodations, transportation, and telecommunication. The ADA is a companion civil rights legislation to the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. In order to be protected by the ADA, one must have a disability or have a relationship or association with an individual with a disability. An individual with a disability is defined by the ADA as a person who has a physical or mental impairment or record of such impairment, or a person who is perceived by others as having such impairment. The ADA, however, does not specifically name all of the impairments that are covered. The ADA is divided into five sections covering the following topics:

  • Title I: Employment

  • Title II: Public Services (and Transportation)

  • Title III: Public Accommodations (and Commercial Facilities)

  • Title IV: Telecommunications

  • Title V: Miscellaneous Provisions

Overview of Title VI Implementation Plan

This is Title VI Implementation Plan is a part of the Town of Ferdinand's continual and ongoing effort to proactively meet and exceed the minimum compliance requirements established under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VI), 49 CFR 26, and the related anti-discrimination statutes and regulations. With this Implementation Plan, the Town of Ferdinand seeks to provide continued transparency, clarity and technical guidance for internal and external constituents regarding its Title VI program.